Of the interestingly uninteresting

36013_444783047473_8131204_n

Hello

Welcome to my blog.

Over the years I have tried multiple times to keep a blog alive for a reasonable amount of time but it has so far been an exercise in futility.

I hope this time I will be in it for the long haul.

I am working as a sports journalist and over a conversation with a friend of mine, Karishma, I was told that the only thing that she wants to read- of all the things that I have written and will write in the future- is how I ended up doing this.

After knowing each other for almost 22 years, she stressed that it was the only thing that she found interesting about my entire life.

Yeah it felt great! But she does have a point.

I guess when you have known someone for that long there is nothing much that can surprise you.

Never in my schooling or in my college days have I shown any inclination that I wanted to do this.

And to think now I can’t imagine doing something else.

I was an average student my whole life, an underachiever in my dad’s eyes because he thinks I am smart but lazy.

He has a case there.

But when he wanted me to do engineering and I wanted to take English literature- more so because I didn’t know what to take and English was the only subject I found moderately interesting- I guess I should have pushed harder for my case.

But I didn’t, which followed four years of college by the end of which I was sure that engineering was not for me.

As a person, if I don’t like something I don’t pay any attention to it and that was that four years. I got some nice friends along the way which was the only consolation of an otherwise unremarkable and completely wasteful four years.

I often wonder if I took away a seat from one aspiring engineer who wanted to make a difference, even though I got in on merit.

What was scary was that at the end of it, I was no closer to knowing what I wanted to do other than the fact that I knew what I didn’t want to do.

Glass half empty??

400537_10151722180847474_997439595_n

Six months of watching television series, playing football and writing articles for Sportskeeda website followed; much to the annoyance of my parents who didn’t appreciate me mooching off of them.

In a middle class family that is a crime like no other. Except maybe for murder.

So after much deliberation I found the answer on my bedroom wall. Among the many posters of football player.

I have always been keen about football and sports in general and watched tactical discussion and read extensively on the game.

Though I thought of it as nothing more than a hobby, when my sister suggested that I can make that hobby into a living, then, like the bulb that goes off on top of Donald Duck’s head when he gets an idea, I found my calling.

What followed has been luck for most part. Got into IPL 6 for Sony Six as an intern and then into Deccan Chronicle as a sports reporter.

I guess when it comes down to it, all that happened was due to my sister’s idea and help, a bunch of luck and seniors who were ready take on an enthusiastic but naïve kid under their wings.

That wasn’t interesting now was it?

Guess Karishma will be disappointed.

But there is still time……

Leave a comment